Our November Masterworks concert focuses on Superheroes in music. Join us as we honor a legendary composer from our own community—the former distinguished professor of composition at the University of Montana, Donald O. Johnston. His Symphony No. 4 “Lewis and Clark Symphony” exemplifies the brave spirits of the first explorers and the soundscape of the openness of the West.

The concert begins with a powerful piece Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman, written by Joan Tower, who was lauded by The New Yorker as “one of the most successful woman composers of all time.” Tower composed the piece in response to Copland’s famous Fanfare for the Common Man. Rounding out the program are Jean Sibelius’ atmospheric Lemminkäinen Suite—a symphonic poem about the Finnish mythological hero—and John Williams’ Superman March.


Listen Here

Listen Here

Listen Here

Listen Here


Program Notes:

Program Notes by James Randall

 Superheroes come in many forms, and our concert testifies to their diversity: some local, some national, some unsung, and some extraterrestrial. They all, however, reflect us—our fears, our hopes, and our collective desire for rescue and redemption.

Joan Tower: Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman No. 6

Jean Sibelius: Lemminkäinen Suite, No. 1, 2 & 4

Jean Sibelius: Finlandia, Op. 26

Donald  O. Johnston: Symphony No. 4 “Lewis & Clark” (Notes by Scott Billadeau)

John Williams: Superman March

Guest Artists:

Concert Sponsors:

Theatre Sponsor:

Media Partners:

Downbeat Downlow Sponsor:

Streaming Sponsor:

Sign up for our newsletter